Charleston, WV
600 Quarrier Street
Charleston, WV 25301
T: (304) 347-1702
F: (304) 343-3058
  • Law Clerk to The Honorable John A. Field, Jr., Judge, U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit (1982-83)

J.D., Harvard Law School (1982)

  • Editor, Harvard International Law Journal

B.A., Stanford University, with distinction (1978)

  • Phi Beta Kappa Honorary Society
  • Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia
  • U.S. District Court for the Southern District of West Virginia
Photo of Thomas A.  Heywood

Thomas A. Heywood

Managing Partner

Tom Heywood is the Managing Partner of Bowles Rice, acting as the firm’s CEO.  His responsibilities include leadership, management and administration of the firm. 

Tom has significant experience in health care, banking and corporate/commercial law, and is frequently called upon by clients and community leaders for advice on business matters related to acquisitions, divestitures and other transactional matters.  An experienced facilitator, he regularly assists businesses and organizations in the strategic planning process. 

As a former Chief of Staff to the Honorable Gaston Caperton, Governor of West Virginia, Tom has extensive experience working with government officials at the federal, state and local levels, and is the leader of the Bowles Rice Government Relations team. 

Tom serves on many charitable and non-profit boards, and actively participates in various business and economic development organizations and trade associations, including the Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation, the Discover the Real West Virginia Foundation, the West Virginia Roundtable (Chairman), the West Virginia Manufacturers Association (Government Affairs Committee Chairman), the West Virginia Chamber of Commerce, Vision Shared, Imagine West Virginia (Chairman), and the Kanawha County Library Foundation (Chairman).  He is a member of the Board of Directors of West Virginia University Health System, Inc. (Finance Committee Chairman) and the Board of Directors of West Virginia University Hospitals (Finance Committee Chairman).  

Tom is active as a leader in many civic initiatives and organizations, and has received numerous awards for his public service.

Professional Highlights

  • Chair of Governor Earl Ray Tomblin’s election campaigns (2011 and 2012)
  • Trustee, The Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation (2012-present)

  • President, Discover the Real West Virginia Foundation (2011-present)

  • Board of Directors, The West Virginia Chamber of Commerce
  • Chairman, Executive Committee Member, The West Virginia Roundtable

  • Chairman, Imagine West Virginia

  • Member, Judicial Reform Commission (2009)
  • Chief of Staff and Counsel to the Honorable Gaston Caperton, Governor of West Virginia (1989-1993)
  • Champion for Children, West Virginia Kids Count, 2019
  • YMCA Spirit of the Valley award winner, 2017
  • Class of 2016 Sharp Shooters, presented by West Virginia Executive
  • Fellow, American Bar Association (2010)
  • Fellow, West Virginia Bar Foundation (2010)
  • Peer-Review Rated AV by Martindale-Hubbell
  • Named to The Best Lawyers in America ® (Health Care Law; Corporate Law; Government Relations Practice; Mergers and Acquisitions Law) 1999-present
  • Recognized by Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business for Corporate/Commercial Law and Corporate/Commercial:  Healthcare
  • Recognized by Super Lawyers (Mergers & Acquisitions), 2007-2011, 2013-present
  • Named one of the “10 Most Influential Business Leaders in West Virginia” by The State Journal (2012)
  • Named among "Who's Who in West Virginia Business" by The State Journal (2010)
  • James R. Thomas Community Volunteer Award, awarded by the Charleston Area Alliance (2010)
  • Alliance Leader for Children Award, awarded by the Alliance for Children (2006)
  • Margaret Baldwin Friend of Education Award, awarded by the West Virginia Education Association (2000)
  • Sam Walton Community Leadership Award, awarded by the Charleston Regional Chamber of Commerce and Development (1999)
  • Citizen of the Year, awarded by the National Association of Social Workers (1999)
  • Distinguished Service Award, awarded by the West Virginia Hospital Association (1996)
  • Friend of Education Award, awarded by the Kanawha County Education Association (1995)
  • American Bar Association
  • The Mountain Company (Board of Directors)
  • Laurel Management Company (Board of Directors)
  • Martha Gaines and Russell Wehrle Memorial Foundation (Secretary)
  • West Virginia Manufacturers Association (Chairman, Government Affairs Committee)
  • Council on Philanthropy (Chairman)
  • INNOVA Investment Advisory Committee
  • Wild Rock Homeowners Association (Secretary)
  • The Heritage Farm Foundation (Advisory Board Member)
  • Reconnecting McDowell, Inc. (Secretary)
  • West Virginia United Health System, Inc. (Executive Committee Member; Finance Committee Member)
  • West Virginia University Hospitals, Inc. (Chairman of Finance Committee; Executive Committee)
  • Vision Shared, Inc. (Executive Committee)
  • West Virginia University (Former Member, Board of Governors)
  • Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College (Former Chairman of the Board)
  • Affordable Insurance Workgroup (Chairman, 2005)
  • Financial Education Foundation (Chairman, 2003-present)
  • Health Advisory Council (Co-Chairman, Finance & Benefits Committee, 2002-2003)
  • TANF Advisory Council (Chairman, 2001)
  • Co-Chairman, “Yes on 1 Committee” (Stock Investment Amendment to West Virginia Constitution) (1998)
  • Transition Committee on Medicaid (Chairman, 1997)
  • Medicaid Crisis Panel (Chairman, 1995)
  • The West Virginia Manufacturers Association (Government Affairs Chairman, 1993-present)

  • Herscher Foundation (Board of Directors) 
  • Clay Center (Chairman of the Nominating Committee; Executive Committee, 2015)
  • Kanawha County Library Foundation (Chairman)
  • West Virginia Sesquicentennial Celebration (Chairman, 2013)
  • Community and Technical College Implementation Board (Chairman, 2000)
  • Celebration 2000 (Co-Chairman, 1999-2000)
  • Various Kanawha County levy and bond committees (1992-present)